J.P.A. François Prize

The J.P.A. François Prize is a prize that is awarded once every two years with a view to encouraging the study of public international law and private international law.

This prize of € 2,000 is awarded for a paper, scientific article or similar writing (Ph.D. theses do not qualify) on a subject of public international law or private international law. Persons who are students at or have obtained a Master’s degree from a Dutch university are eligible to compete for this prize, provided that they have obtained their Master’s degree less than two (2) years ago (as set out in more detail in the Bye-Laws governing the François Prize).

Papers submitted are judged by a jury of experts. The jury is currently chaired by mr. dr. Ch.Y.M. Paulussen, Senior Researcher at the T.M.C. Asser Institute. The other two members are prof. mr. dr. G.R. de Groot, professor emeritus of Comparative Law and Private International Law at Maastricht University, and dr. I. Boerefijn, Coordinating Policy Advisor at the Netherlands Institute for Human Rights and former Senior Lecturer in human rights at Utrecht University.